testing…testing…

I’ve had this account for so long, I thought it was about time to start using it. I’d like to use this space to record thoughts on the Christian life. My dad is doing a great job of that, and, as usual, I’m proud to try to follow in his footsteps.

For the last week, I’ve been listening to United We Stand by Hillsong United almost non-stop. I was at a friend’s house last Friday, and he showed us the DVD of this album being recorded on the last night of a youth festival in Australia. There must have been at least three to five thousand young people in attendance, and they were going off worshiping the Lord.

I was so moved by their obvious passion for the Lord. Sure, I know that they are all sinners, and all probably at different levels of commitment to Christ. But that worship was something beautiful to behold, and it glorified God in a powerful way. It reminds me that the Father is looking for people to worship Him in spirit and in truth.

“But the hour is coming, and now is, when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth; for the Father is seeking such to worship Him. God is Spirit, and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truth.” John 4:23-24

God doesn’t just want people to worship Him in spirit and truth — He is actively seeking them. In all my faults and all my frailties, God seeks my worship. And the only hope I have of worshiping Him in truth, in a way that really glorifies Him, that even touches a glimpse of His glory, is to worship Him by the power of His Spirit.

When I think of that, I know that even when I am overwhelmed by my sin and failings, even when I fall short in the same area over and over again, I can offer God worship that is worthy of Him by the power of His Spirit.

And that’s an awesome thought.

One thought on “testing…testing…

  1. Once again, Rachel has insight that comes only from an intimate relationship with Jesus. (You will need to forgive this Papa’s pride in his own). The great secret of worship is that in doing it draws others to Jesus. So the Father, desiring that all come to repentance, eagerly desires our worship so that others come to know Jesus as well. And in the mean time, we are privileged to come into His presence – with all our sins; selfishness; self-centeredness; yet, He does not discriminate in His love for His own. He loves us right where we are at in our journey with Jesus. I am grateful for His great grace. “Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.” Ephesians 3:20-21, NKJV

Leave a Reply

