Why "Notes from the Well?" Part 2

In my last entry, I talked about some of the awesome things in scripture that have happened at wells. But that’s only part of why I call this blog “Notes from the Well.”

The other reason is what water represents in scripture. While on earth, Jesus revealed a relationship with Him as the source of living water to quench thirst:

On the last day, that great day of the feast, Jesus stood and cried out, saying, “If anyone thirsts, let him come to Me and drink. He who believes in Me, as the Scripture has said, out of his heart will flow rivers of living water.” John 7:37-38

Jesus said this on the last day of the Feast of Tabernacles. During this feast, the priests would daily pour out pitchers of water on the pavement of the temple mount. They did this as a memorial of God providing the water from the rock in the wilderness. The children of Israel were in the wilderness, complaining that they had nothing to drink, and God commanded water to spring out of the rock.

The water from the rock was a foreshadowing of Jesus’ provision of living water to those that believe on Him. We are wandering in the wilderness of sin, and we have no water.

All of us are born with a thirst deeper than our physical thirst – even deeper than our emotional thirst. This thirst is for a relationship with the one true living God. He created us to have an intimate personal relationship with Him, but that relationship was broken by the sin of Adam and Eve, and by our continued sin. So we are left with a huge missing piece of who we are supposed to be – without the most important relationship we can have.

Jesus also spoke of the living water at the well with the Samaritan woman:

Jesus answered and said to her, “If you knew the gift of God, and who it is who says to you, ‘Give Me a drink,’ you would have asked Him, and He would have given you living water…Whoever drinks of this water will thirst again, but whoever drinks of the water that I shall give him will never thirst. But the water that I shall give him will become in him a fountain of water springing up into everlasting life.” John 4:10, 13-14

Through Jesus, we have access to living water to quench our deepest thirst – for relationship with God. Jesus’ water makes it possible to have an eternal relationship with an eternal God, so our thirst for relationship with Him is eternally quenched.

That said, however, I’ve felt thirsty since I’ve been saved. How can I reconcile that with Jesus’ words in John 4? A few years ago, God showed me how – I’d been drinking from the wrong well. Even though we have eternal relationship with God at the moment we believe on Jesus, we “thirst” for that communion with Him that comes from relating to Him daily.

“For My people have committed two evils: They have forsaken Me, the fountain of living waters, and hewn themselves cisterns–broken cisterns that can hold no water.”Jeremiah 2:13

Just like the nation Israel, at times, I wander back to trying to find satisfaction in things of the world: earthly relationships, worldly wealth, position, power, validation from other people. When I try to go to any source but God for satisfaction of my desires, I am left desperately thirsty. When I make my own well, when I try to store my own water, I find that my cisterns are broken, and can hold no water.

“HO! Everyone who thirsts,
Come to the waters;
And you who have no money,
Come, buy and eat.
Yes, come, buy wine and milk
Without money and without price.

Why do you spend money for what is not bread,
And your wages for what does not satisfy?
Listen carefully to Me, and eat what is good,
And let your soul delight itself in abundance.”
Isaiah 55:1-2

Jesus calls us today, just as He called 2,000 years ago, as God called through the prophet Isaiah, to drink what satisfies. He is calling us to drink His living water (and eat His bread of life) because only the living water satisfies. Only it quenches that which is thirsty in us.

So, I want to go to Jesus’ well – the well of living water. The living water represents the Holy Spirit. I want to rely on Him to satisfy my deepest desires, to rely on Him to make manifest the life of Christ in my life.

God wants to satisfy those desires so deeply that I will overflow with His Spirit, the living water. And that’s why I’m hanging out at the well! Like David, my soul thirsts for God, for the living God.

One thought on “Why "Notes from the Well?" Part 2

  1. Rachel; I do so enjoy what the Holy Spirit gives you in your blog. We need the Living Water Jesus spoke of to be truly satisfied. Nothing else fits. It was Blasé Pascal who said: “Within the heart of every man there is a God shaped void that only He can fill.” When men get tired enough of trying to put the square peg into the round hole, only then will the come to the Once who freely gives the Living Water.

Leave a Reply

