power, not fear

i sent this to a new friend tonight, and i figured that i would need to read it again for myself at some point, and that maybe someone else might be encouraged by it.

i don’t know what all you guys are going through, but i sure can relate to feeling close to or past your breaking point. and i want you to know that God is with you and He has power for you, not fear.

2 Timothy 1:7 For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind. (NKJV)

Isaiah 41: 8-13
(emphasis is mine)
8 “But you, Israel, are My servant,
Jacob whom I have chosen,
The descendants of Abraham My friend.
9 You whom I have taken from the ends of the earth,
And called from its farthest regions,
And said to you,
‘You are My servant,
I have chosen you and have not cast you away:
10 Fear not, for I am with you;
Be not dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you,
Yes, I will help you,
I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’

11 “Behold, all those who were incensed against you
Shall be ashamed and disgraced;
They shall be as nothing,
And those who strive with you shall perish.
12 You shall seek them and not find them—
Those who contended with you.
Those who war against you
Shall be as nothing,
As a nonexistent thing.
13 For I, the LORD your God, will hold your right hand,
Saying to you, ‘Fear not, I will help you.’

God is with you! He does not want you to be afraid! is your son afraid when you take him by his hand and walk with him? of course not! he is with his mommy and he knows he is safe! fear doesn’t even occur to him! it is the same with God! in verse 13 he says that he is holding our hands and that while he does it, he’s telling us “don’t be afraid, i’m going to help you!”

God is already working on your behalf. His help has already begun. He is with you! what can stand against you?

AND, the very same power that raised Jesus Christ from the dead, that performed every miracle you’ve ever read about in the bible, LIVES IN YOU! the Holy Spirit, God Himself, lives inside of you to give you to power to go beyond your breaking point, to survive what is unsurvivable, to conquer the insurmountable!

i just want to encourage you to lean on His strength, to rest in His power, to draw from His strength.

i’ll be praying for you guys. i pray God meets you in a special, intimate and personal way this week.

Isaiah 40:27-31
27 Why do you say, O Jacob,
And speak, O Israel:
“My way is hidden from the LORD,
And my just claim is passed over by my God”?
28 Have you not known?
Have you not heard?
The everlasting God, the LORD,
The Creator of the ends of the earth,
Neither faints nor is weary.
His understanding is unsearchable.
29 He gives power to the weak,
And to those who have no might He increases strength.

30 Even the youths shall faint and be weary,
And the young men shall utterly fall,
31 But those who wait on the LORD
Shall renew their strength;
They shall mount up with wings like eagles,
They shall run and not be weary,
They shall walk and not faint.

One thought on “power, not fear

Leave a Reply

